Basketball On The Internet.

Sponsored by:

AllStar Photos

Specialising in Action, Team and Portrait Photography.


Advertising opportunities available.
Please contact me.

Fine Cotton makes it a double

PERTH's American superstar guard Bryce Cotton tonight became the NBL club's first multiple winner of the Most Valuable Player award when he collected the Andrew Gaze Trophy as the league's 2019-20 winner.

As expected, Cotton finished ahead of Cairns Taipans playmaker Scott Machado (80 votes) and Brisbane Bullets' versatile forward Lamar Patterson (73 votes), polling 88 votes to bring up his second MVP success, having previously won in the 2017-18 season.

He is only the Wildcats' third winner of the MVP, Paul Rogers claiming the top individual accolade in 2000 and Kevin Lisch in 2012. Lisch became a multiple winner when he claimed the MVP award again in 2016 while with Illawarra Hawks.

While becoming the first player to lead the NBL in scoring and steals, Cotton joins only Leroy Loggins (1984, 1986, 1987), Andrew Gaze (1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998), Scott Fisher (1989, 1992), Robert Rose (1993, 2001), Chris Anstey (2006, 2008) and Lisch as a multiple MVP winner.

Machado and Patterson joined Cotton in the NBL First Team, along with Nick Kay (Perth Wildcats) and Jae'Sean Tate (Sydney Kings).

Cairns Taipans coach Mike Kelly won the Lindsay Gaze Coach of the Year award, taking the Orangemen from a six-win season last year to 16 wins and the playoffs in 2019-20.

His Taipans' combo guard DJ Newbill was recognised as the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

Illawarra Hawks' NBL Next Star and projected top three NBA draft pick LaMelo Ball took Rookie of the Year honours.

Brisbane Bullets' burgeoning big man Will "The Magnate" Magnay was named Most Improved Player, with teammate Jason Cadee winning the Sixth Man award.

The NBL Second Team is Casper Ware and Andrew Bogut of the Sydney Kings, Newbill and Cameron Oliver of the Taipans, and New Zealand’s Scott Hopson.

The Fans MVP vote was won by Cairns' Scott Machado and the Gametime by Kmart MVP Award (for community work) was collected by Dane Pineau (South East Melbourne).

Referee of the Year was won by Vaughan Mayberry but we'll just go check the videotape in case we missed something.

Feb 16

Content, unless otherwise indicated, is © copyright Boti Nagy.